Romance Week Update and Conclusion

“The sunlight claps the earth, and the moonbeams kiss the sea: what are all these kissings worth, if thou kiss not me?”
Percy Bysshe Shelley

So I’m still reading “Wuthering Heights” by Emily Bronte and I don’t quite know what it is about reading it again right now but, I’m just not finding myself engrossed by the characters as I have been in the past. The very notion of turning (swiping rather) the page to read more about the tedious blossoming love between Linton Heathcliff and his cousin Catherine Linton is enough to make me roll my eyes at the predictability and likeness that runs continually through this book: Cathy and Heathcliff mimicking Catherine and Linton. Even good natured Ellen Dean the nurse, and ladies maid to both Catherine Earnshaw and Cathy Linton is slowly getting on my nerves.

I am determined to finish this, however long it may take me especially considering the three books I’ve decided upon for my book club, plus the many others that have taken my fancy of the past couple months. I swear my TBR pile is spiralling out of control and there just aren’t enough hours in a day to sort out what I’m truly aching to read from those that can sit waiting patiently until I get to them.

I’ve found it’s easier to neglect books when they’re of the E-Book variety because they take up very little space, whereas their paperbound cousins make themselves gloriously seen and heard as they take up excess space on shelves, tables and empty spaces usually reserved for more practical things.

The conclusion of ‘Romance Week’ for me has been hopeful in that I’ve read three very diverse and captivating books each with their own take on love and romance and learnt a lot from them. For example, love is not predictable nor is it fickle. Love is impartial and true and once you’ve tasted it’s bittersweetness there’s no going back.

“There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.”
Sarah Dessen, The Truth About Forever

Leave a Reply

