Review: The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor

  • PUBLISHING DATE: 7th April 2016
  • PUBLISHER: Harper (HarperCollins Publishing)
  • FORMAT: Paperback
  • GENRE: Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Historical, Crime, Historical Mystery
  • ISBN: 9780008119072
  • RATING: 3.5/5

SYNOPSIS:

REVIEW:

I enjoyed this book very much but I found I had to do a lot of research alongside to help me understand some of the topics mentioned. 

I enjoyed the historical aspect very much with the mixed POV between James Marwood and Catherine Lovett helping to break up some of the monotony I found with the descriptions used by the author Andrew Taylor. 

I also think Taylor’s reference to much darker subjects such as religious extremism, murder and Regicide and the way he handled them was very excellently done.

The downsides varied but brought me to my overall rating of 3.5 stars. The main one was the way in which the book ended. It was predictable at this point and the mysticism Taylor was aiming for disappeared. I also wasn’t too enamoured with Catherine Lovett. Yes, her story is a sad one but her mannerisms and reaction to various events were a bit over the top in my opinion. I did admire Taylor in giving Catherine Lovett an aspiration that was considered unladylike in 1666.

Overall, a good murder mystery story that is just in need of a little polishing.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor

  1. Do you read nonfiction very often?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

