Blissful Basil – Ashley Melillo

29502542

  • Publication Date: 20th December 2016
  • Publisher: BenBella Books
  • Genre: Cooking, Food & Wine
  • Format: Paperback, Kindle Edition
  • ISBN-13: 9781942952459
  • Rating: 5/5

SUMMARY:

Experience the happiest side of life through nourishing, beautiful foods.

Ashley Melillo believes in enjoying a wide array of wholesome foods in order to thrive physically, mentally, and emotionally. When she develops recipes for her popular blog, Blissful Basil, she finds innovative and unexpected ways to use plants to create fun, flavorful dishes that keep her readers coming back again and again. Beautifully photographed, Ashley’s debut cookbook brings brand new recipes, plus a handful of signature dishes, from her kitchen to yours.

Blissful Basil focuses on creative combinations of whole foods to bring out the best flavors of plants. This cookbook features more than 100 plant-based dishes that will delight vegans, vegetarians, and meat-eaters alike. What’s more, most of the recipes are also gluten-free, soy-free, and free from refined sugars.

Inside, you’ll discover a variety of new creations and fan favorites, including:
– Raw Apple-Cinnamon Breakfast Parfait with Cinnamon Soft Serve
– Burst Heirloom Tomato + SuperSeed Pesto Pasta
– Cosmically Fudgy Cacao-Tahini Brownies
– Crispy Brussels Sprout Chips with Lemon Aioli
– Crispy Cauliflower Tacos with Slaw + Avocado Cream
– Pile ’em High Epic Plant-Powered Nachos

Blissful Basil offers a vibrant journey through vegan cooking, where delicious plant-based foods become the colorful foundation for meals that nourish the body and delight the senses. When you treat plants with love and a splash of creativity, you’ll discover dishes that are flavor-packed and satisfying, whether it’s a quick breakfast or a savory dinner.

This is a cookbook for anyone in search of an accessible way to cook and enjoy more delicious, health-giving meals. Make your table a blissful place where wonderful foods rejuvenate your body, delight your palette, and enhance your well-being. With Blissful Basil, each meal is a new opportunity to choose foods that are as beneficial as they are delectable.


REVIEW:

I received a copy of this book as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

What to say about this book that I haven’t already said on NetGalley in my review there?

There isn’t much more to say, other than to talk about how this book inspires me to do better, to eat better, to live better, to be brave. Being brave is a constant daily struggle for me but after reading this book and trying more than a few of these recipes I can definitely say that I feel more confident than I did before and less anxious too which, for someone with crippling mental health issues like myself is a big step towards clarity and freedom.

For those of you who don’t know Ashley Melillo she is a young American woman who is best known for her food & cookery blog from which her debut cookbook gets its name. She currently works as a school psychologist in North Chicago and is not only a lover of all things food, she also strives hard to maintain a healthy lifestyle through meditation, yoga and interval training; a series of exercise techniques that have helped to reduce her Seasonal Affective Disorder.

After practically devouring this cookbook in all it’s plant-based vibrant and nutrient packed glory I visited Ashley Melillo’s blog Blissful Basil for even more goodness. And I can honestly say that I was not disappointed. Other than the amazing avocado toast recipes which is one of my go-to brunch foods my favourite recipe by Ashley Melillo has to be this: VEGAN BUFFALO CHICKEN SALAD. No need to worry there’s no actual chicken anywhere near this recipe or meat substitutes. It is all 100% vegan. I found this recipe on blissfulbasil.com and I have to say my favourite part has to be the different textures and colours. I’m a big believer that we eat with our eyes and colour for me is everything. I hate bland looking foods and recipes and have to inject colour wherever I see fit.

I love my cookbooks and can definitely say that this will be a massive feature on my bookshelves and I look forward to experiencing more vegan food in the future.

Leave a Reply

