And I Darken by Kiersten White – BOOK REVIEW

This book has it’s good parts and it’s bad. I loved the characters and the description of the Ottoman Empire and Erdine but I absolutely hated Lada Draculesti. She was like poison throughout this novel which ended up leaving a bitter taste in my mouth. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love her ferocity and determination but I absolutely hated her weakness of character. Even Radu the poor, vulnerable weak boy got some amazing character development where Lada had none. I don’t know if that was the author’s design or not. I just know that when I think of this female antagonist I don’t feel empowered. I feel embarrassed for her.

This is an amazing book and I loved the richness of Islam being portrayed as it should – a kind, benevolent religion filled with promise and hope of peace.

‘As I Darken’ is a dark tale full of love, betrayal and forbidden fruits and follows the lives of Lada and Radu Draculesti and Mehmed historically known as the Sultan who took Constantinople.

I was given a copy of this by NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

