Double Book Review

Books on review:

The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchinson

hutchison-thebutterflygarden-21825-cv-ft-v5

  1. Publication date: 1st June 2016
  2. Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Mystery, Crime, Suspense, Horror, Thriller, Contemporary
  3. Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
  4. Format: Paperback, Kindle Edition, Audio CD
  5. ISBN: 9781503934719
  6. Rating: 5/5

SYNOPSIS:

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…


REVIEW:

WARNING: CONTAINS SENSITIVE THEMES AND SPOILERS.

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW.

Goodreads Review

There isn’t really anything to say about The Butterfly Garden that I haven’t already said above in my Goodreads review. However, I will say this read this book even though it is full of difficult themes like rape, abduction and child abuse because, in her unique way Dot Hutchinson gives us a scary and twisted insight into the mind of a serial murderer, rapist and pedophile.

I could not put this book down and am definitely going to read this book again.

I hope you enjoy my reviews and the book.


Who REALLY Wrote Shakespeare?: A detective mystery novel by D. Lawrence-Young

cover88384-medium

  1. Publishing date: 26th April 2016
  2. Genre: General Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers
  3. Publisher: Matador
  4. Format: Kindle Edition
  5. ISBN: 9781785895760
  6. Rating: 3/5

SYNOPSIS:

“William Shakespeare was a con man! A faker and a forger!” With these words from a fellow lecturer ringing in his ears, university lecturer, Daniel Ryhope, sets off on a quest to uncover the truth: Did Shakespeare really write Shakespeare?

Joined by his wife and two friends, Daniel begins the search: analyzing and sifting through information on writers and dramatists who were alive during the Shakespearean era. How could it be that the writer of the greatest works in English came from a small market town? Did the creator of Hamlet and Macbeth have to be rich and well-educated? Was Shakespeare a cover-name for an anonymous aristocratic playwright? Did Shakespeare have connections at court? Was the writer really a woman? Was it possible that the plays were written by a team?

In true detective fashion, Daniel and his friends investigate all the possible options and theories. In the end, they announce their conclusion, appropriately enough, in Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace.

Using sources from far and wide, D. Lawrence-Young has written a fascinating novel of detection which throws much light on the perennial question:Who Really Wrote Shakespeare?


REVIEW:

Goodreads Review 

I RECIEVED A COPY OF THIS VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW.

So many of you are grossly aware that this book has been stuck on my ‘currently reading’ shelf on goodreads and in my Kindle app for absolutely ages. I have finally decided to give up on this book as, I just cannot seem to get through it seemlessly.

I am disappointed in myself but, I am aiming to try and read this book again sometime in the future, and will provide an update review once  I do.

I have reviewed “Who REALLY Wrote Shakespeare?: A detective mystery novel” on Goodreads (see link above) but I will add a concise review on here below:

When I first requested this book on NetGalley, I did so because I am an avid lover of Shakespeare, his plays, sonnets and poems and so, I decided to read this to see what Mr D. Lawrence-Young had to say about the ongoing debate over Shakespeare’s identity.

I personally don’t care who Shakespeare is; whether he is the young bard from Stratford-upon-Avon or a wealthy aristocrat like Sir Francis Bacon and Sir Walter Raleigh. The parts of the book I enjoyed the most even though I was unable to complete it were the parts where the author Lawrence-Young included his research processes with his wife and colleagues/friends in his quest to see if he could answer the old age question that he titled this book with.

The only issue I had, and this is said in my Goodreads review was the inclusion of historically fictional episodes by other Shakespearean researchers and suspected identities like Sir Francis Bacon. I didn’t really feel that they needed to be included but I think that was mainly because, Lawrence-Young provided so much information that after awhile it started to bleed into each other making it difficult for me to follow his train of thought and understand his conclusions.

Therefore, overall, I am unable to give this novel a glowing five star review because of the book’s, choppy nature and poor construction.

5 thoughts on “Double Book Review

  1. I think this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark
    on few general things, The site style is ideal, the
    articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

    Like

  2. It’s very simplee too finjd outt aany toplic oon nett aas
    comjpared tto textbooks, aas I fopund this poat at thks wweb site.
    Heeya i amm forr thee first timee here. I cme acroses thios
    biard andd I fiknd It rwally usseful & it helped mme
    oout a lot. I hkpe too gige something back and aidd others liike yoou aided me.

    Dooes youyr site haqve a ckntact page? I’m hhaving troubnle lpcating iit but, I’d like too
    shlot yyou ann email. I’ve ggot some ideas forr you blog yyou might be innterested iin hearing.
    Eitherr way, gret skte annd I loolk forward to seeijng
    iit grow ovesr time. http://www.cspan.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

