Nina is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi

27245625

  • PUBLISHING DATE: July 28, 2016
  • PUBLISHER: Random House Uk/Ebury Press (Fiction)
  • GENRE: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
  • FORMAT: Paperback, Hardcover, Ebook (Kindle Edition)
  • ISBN: 9781473528260
  • RATING: 5/5
  • OTHER NOTABLE WORKS:
    1. A Beginner’s Guide to Acting English

SYNOPSIS:

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before , then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

A dark, funny – sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.


REVIEW:

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE OF MY HONEST REVIEW.

When I first saw that this book was available for request on NetGalley I knew I was in for a treat. I have always been a big fan of Shappi Khorsandi‘s comedic career and therefore knew that her novel ‘Nina is Not OK’ was going to be amazing.

On the first few pages, I thought that this was going to be another typical teen drama but then Khorsandi brought in the character of Alex and the crazy whirlwind that was Saturday night at a nightclub. This book is about a young seventeen year old girl who struggles with alcoholism, a flaky ex-boyfriend, uptight parents and the general day to day life of a normal seventeen year old.

Once I started reading I couldn’t put this down. It was like I was absorbed into Khorsandi’s amazing writing and was almost living the main character Nina’s life alongside her. This book does contain some very mature adult themes which, makes this book unsuitable for younger readers however, it is an amazing book full of enaging characters, like Nina’s five year old sister Katie and slightly eccentric but lovable Trish.

My only problem with this book was the way it ended. Obviously, it ended on a high point but I would have liked to have seen Nina finally confront the final oppressor in her life, and find ultimate closure.

All in all I love this book so much and am going to have to read it over and over.

Again, a big thanks to NetGalley for allowing me to read and review such a striking work of fiction ahead of it’s release date. You can also find my review for this book on Goodreads.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s