Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

29079057

  • Publish Date: 30th June 2016
  • Publisher: Egmont Publishing/Electric Monkey
  • Genre: Contempory, Young Adult (YA)
  • ISBN 13: 9781405275392
  • Rating: 5/5
  • Other Notable Works:
    1. Seed

SYNOPSIS:

June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. She is trapped like a butterfly in a net.

But then June meets Blister, a boy in the woods. In him she recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from her home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . But at what price?

Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan and Louise O’Neill.


I recieved a copy of this from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. You can also find a brief review of this book by me on Goodreads.

Review:

Lisa Heathfield’s ‘Paper Butterflies’ is a masterpiece and a book that everyone should read this summer. In this novel we follow June, a young girl who is struggling under the crippling affects of child abuse at the hands of her stepmother, and stepsister. The torment June goes under is deplorable and yet there seems to be hope yet for June when she meets a young boy called Blister when she seeks solace amongst a collection of broken, down, rotted old trailers (caravans).

I love June. I wish she were a real person whom I could protect, love and cherish. Whilst I was sympathetic towards Megan; June’s younger step-sister I was less so towards her father. A man who claimed to love her yet was so blind to what was truly going on within his own home. My conclusion has been that he was trying to cling on to the ‘ideal’ perfect family through giving June a mother but, he failed to truly stop and ask himself what was best for June. I believe that in my opinion that her father was a selfish man, who despite his declarations of love only truly cared about his own happiness.

My main issue with this particular book is how harrowing the end is. Yes, it was lovely to know that despite everything Blister was continuing to fight for her but, I was so desperately hoping that she would make it back to him that when the book ended I was left feeling completely dissatisfied with it. Lisa Heathfield does however show important it is to have hope but also how cruel life and fate can truly be even to someone as victimised as June.

One thing that stuck in my mind was how Karma really does even out the odds in the end but at what cost?

I hope you decide to purchase this book on it’s release date of June 30th, 2016 because it is worth every tear.

 

2 thoughts on “Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

Leave a Reply

