Books Glorious Books

My reading list has officially exploded. I have so many to go through that I feel, a little overwhelmed but, that’s mainly because I want to give you an honest review of what I do read.

`So the other day, I went out to town and ended up with six new books which, I bought second-hand from a charity shop run by OXFAM.

IMAG0176

Apologies for the poor quality, I used my phone’s camera to take this. For those of you who can’t read the covers, I bought the following:

  • EAT PRAY LOVE – ELIZABETH GILBERT
  • THE MINIATURIST – JESSIE BURTON
  • LOVE, AUBREY – SUZANNE LaFLEUR
  • THE LOVELY BONES – ALICE SEBOLD
  • MARSHMALLOWS FOR BREAKFAST – DOROTHY KOOMSON
  • THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER – JED RUBENFIELD

 

EAT PRAY LOVE – ELIZABETH GILBERT

7972797-_uy200_

So, I have the copy that has the movie promotional cover which, doesn’t bother me terribly. I do love the simplicity of the original cover though. This book was first published in March 2007 by Bloomsbury, has since its release sold over 10 million copies throughout the world. You can obviously buy this on Amazon in all formats, plus the movie on DVD and Blu-ray

SYNOPSIS:

Elizabeth Gilbert is in her thirties, settled in a large house with a husband who wants to start a family. But she doesn’t want any of it. A bitter divorce and a rebound fling later, Elizabeth emerges battered yet determined to find out what she’s been missing.

So begins her quest. In Rome, she indulges herself and gains nearly two stone. In India, she finds enlightenment through scrubbing temple floors. Finally, in Bali, a toothless medicine man reveals a new path to peace, leaving her ready to love again.

To me this book is as pivotal to own as ‘Bridget Jones’ Diary‘ by Helen Fielding. It’s a must have book for women, and for men too because, it deals with life’s harsh realities as well as, ways to find the person you once were before you got hit by a steaming pile of bull.

I have seen the motion picture and loved it. I am a Julia Roberts fan though, so I can say with clarity that I am perhaps biased. However, I am going into reading this novel with fresh, clean eyes, without a hint of Julia Roberts present.

I think this book is definitely going to surprise me.


THE MINIATURIST – JESSIE BURTON

91j7w2bejxvl

This one has been on my ‘to read’ list for about a year, and I am so glad that I was able to pick up a copy because, the blurb just drew me in as did the cover actually. This book was first published in  2015 by Picador.

SYNOPSIS:

On an autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives at a grand house in Amsterdam to being her new life as the wife of wealthy merchant Johannes Brandt. Though curiously distant, he presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations ring eerily true.

As Nella uncovers the secrets of her new household she realizes the escalating dangers they face. The miniaturist seems to hold their fate in her hands – but does she plan to save or destroy them?

I’ve always had a love for old-fashioned dolls houses. The ones I know best are obviously Victorian style but the one in this novel, is Dutch. It’s the character of the miniaturist that fascinates me the most. Why does he create tiny replicated pieces of furniture? What took him into the profession of miniaturism, and why does he seem to have an issue with Nella and her new-found position as mistress of the Brandt home?


 

THE INTERPRETATION OF MURDER – JED RUBENFIELD

91pejsjptol

You’ve got to love a good crime drama. This one definitely appealed, hence why I bought it. I’m not sure how I’m going to like this book but I’ll let you know once I’ve read it. In the UK we have an old TV presenter couple called Richard & Judy, and this appeared on their book club must reads list. It also won a British Book Award in 2007. This book by Jed Rubenfield was first published in 2006 by HEADLINE REVIEW.

SYNOPSIS:

Manhattan 1909.

On the morning after Sigmund Freud arrives in New York on his first – and only – visit to the United States, a stunning débutante is found bound and strangled in her penthouse apartment, high above Broadway. The following night, another beautiful heiress Nora Acton, is discovered tied to a chandelier in her parents’ home, viciously wounded and unable to speak or to recall her ordeal. Soon Freud and his American disciple, Stratham Younger, are enlisted to help Miss Acton recover her memory, and to piece together the killer’s identity. It is a riddle that will test their skills to the limit, and lead them on a thrilling journey – into the darkest places of the city, and of the human mind.

Victorian Manhattan intrigues me. Sigmund Freud intrigues me. This book intrigues me. I love a good crime novel, and this one doesn’t look like it will disappoint. I also love the fact that Rubenfield includes elements of psychology, neurology, psychotherapy and psychoanalysis (Freud’s professional fields) to help discover who it was that attacked Nora Acton and the beautiful débutante killed above Broadway.


MARSHMALLOWS FOR BREAKFAST – DOROTHY KOOMSON

51klcxanvql

The title captured my interest at first. That and my love of sugary treats especially marshmallows with all their squidgy niceness.  This book was published in 2007 by Sphere – an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group.

SYNOPSIS:

How do you explain those unexpected moments of love?

When Kendra Tamale returns to England from Australia she rents a room from Kyle, a separated father of two, and begins a new job. She’s looking forward to a fresh start and a simple life.

Kyle’s six-year-old twins, Summer and Jaxon, have other ideas and quickly adopt Kendra as their new mother – mainly because she lets them eat marshmallows for breakfast. Kendra eventually becomes a part of their live, even though she’s hiding a painful secret that makes her keep everyone – especially children – at arm’s length.

Then Kendra bumps into the man who shares her awful secret, and everything falls apart: she can’t sleep, she can’t eat, she’s suspended from work, and the kids are taken away by their mother. The only way to fix things is to confess to the terrible mistake she made all those years ago. But that’s something she swore never to do…

When I read the blurb my heart yearned to help Kendra Tamale find happiness. I was also intrigued by her secrets. I’m curious to know what could be possibly so terrible that her employers children Summer and Jaxon get taken away?


LOVE, AUBREY – SUZANNE LaFLEUR

51vk0oogzvl

I am a very visual person, and consider myself to be fairly creative, so it’s not going to come as a shock that the cover made me pick up this book. This book was published in 2009 by Puffin Books.

SYNOPSIS

Something heartbreaking happened. Eleven-year-old Aubrey is on her own.

‘It was fun at first, playing house. Nothing to think about but TV and cheese. A perfect world.’

She’s determined to hide away and take care of herself, because facing the truth is too much to bear.

‘I couldn’t let anyone know that I was alone. I was staying right here.’

But with the love of her grandmother and the letters she writes, can Aubrey begin to see that even though she’s lost everything – all is not lost?

I haven’t read many books told from a child’s point-of-view and I’m very much looking forward to seeing what this debut novel from Suzanne LaFleur holds.


 

THE LOVELY BONES – ALICE SEBOLD

21svoghutzl

This book is another that I’ve been meaning to read for a long. long time and since then has become a motion picture. Both the book and the film can be bought on Amazon in both DVD and Blu-ray copies.  I’ve yet to see the film, so my perception of this book is less clouded than Eat, Pray, Love whose movie inspired me to purchase the book. This book was published in 2002 by Picador.

SYNOPSIS:

My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973. My murderer was a man from our neighbourhood. My mother liked his border flowers, and my father talked to him once about fertilizer.

This is Suzie Salmon, speaking from heaven – which looks a lot like her school playground, with the good kind of swing sets, counsellors to help newcomers to adjust, and friends to room with. Everything Suzie wants appears as soon as she thinks of it – except the one thing she wants most: to be back with the people she loved on earth.

Watching from her place in heaven, Suzie sees her happy, suburban family devastated by her death, isolated even from one another as they each try to cope with their terrible loss alone. Over the years, her friends and siblings grow up, fall in love, do all the things she never had the chance to do herself. But life is not quite finished with Susie yet…

Do her family ever discover who it was that killed Suzie? Is she the only one to fall victim to her murderer with the pretty border flowers?

I think I’m going to read this one next but I have so many books, that I’m not sure of which to choose first.

 

4 thoughts on “Books Glorious Books

Leave a Reply

